A Brief Note on Scientific Writing

Posted: October 1, 2009 in Science
Tags: , ,

Tomorrow, when I can stop pinching the bridge of my nose from this computer-screen headache, I’ll be looking into styles of scientific writing for my proposal due on Friday. Yes, there are styles, plural. I’m not sure if I should take the passive voice route (“The experiment was carried out and things happened magically on their own with no apparent author”) or the active voice route (“I carried out the experiment and now think I’m a huge deal as I write this paper because I’m using the word ‘I'”).

I’m torn on which way to go, because I hate passive voice. But it does sound more professional. Whenever I read a paper with “I” in it, I feel like this person has never read a scientific paper. The royal “we” is a little better, but not by much. Then it feels like a group of high schoolers wrote the paper.

Anyway, I’m off to take some aspirin.

Leave a Reply

